An Open Letter to Foxy

6 May

Dear Foxy,

I’d like to welcome you to the 21st Century.  There’s this new invention that you may or may not have heard of.  We call this “call waiting”.  You see, it allows people to call you even though you’re on the other line.  You’d actually hear a beeping and could switch over to see who is calling you.

In this case, the person calling would be me to deliver the message that Claude may be coming out with us on Friday.  Sadly, your lack of willingness to join the rest of us in the 21st century is prohibiting me from giving you this wonderful news.

I hope you’re happy.  I hope you’re happy now.

Your “friend” who is way hipper and more modern than you,

Catherinette

9 Responses to “An Open Letter to Foxy”

  1. Red May 6, 2008 at 2:47 pm #

    “I hope you’re happy. I hope you’re happy now.” Did you quote Wicked on purpose?

    That’s probably the best song in the show. Was wondering if anyone would pick up on that. -CS

  2. teri May 6, 2008 at 4:26 pm #

    I HATE call waiting.

    Good for you, Foxy. Resist as long as you can and ignore Catherinette.

    Teri, no! Unacceptable behavior from you and this will NOT be tolerated. Don’t make me write an open letter to you where I demand that you embrace the joys of call waiting. I will do it. -CS

  3. Chardonnnay May 6, 2008 at 4:53 pm #

    Who doesn’t have call waiting???

    Foxy and, apparently, Teri. So not right. -CS

  4. Desiree May 6, 2008 at 5:18 pm #

    I remember trying to talk my parents into getting call waiting when it first came about. Now… sometimes… I wish it didn’t exist.

    The beauty of it is that you can ignore it and your callers can just leave you a message. I heart it. Granted, I never ever have to use it because no one loves me enough to call me while I’m on the line with other people. -CS

  5. teri May 6, 2008 at 7:41 pm #

    Does it matter that if I’m on my home phone my messages go right to voicemail? No busy signal, just voicemail.

    AND the message even tells them that I’m on the phone.

    You totally should have mentioned that before. Said solution is fully acceptable. -CS

  6. Jenna May 6, 2008 at 10:52 pm #

    I called my parents’ house the other day and got a busy signal. I was so confused. I can’t remember the last time I heard an actual busy signal.

    The last time I heard one was yesterday, when I called Foxy. -CS

  7. Amadeo May 7, 2008 at 10:30 am #

    My mother never picks up her phone at work and usually has her cell phone turned off which let’s me leave messages like this:

    This is your only child and I just wanted to let you know that you are impossible to contact which sucks since you are listed as my emergency contact. So right now I could be lying in a gutter bleeding and no one would be able to contact you. I hope you are satisfied. Perhaps I’ll still be amongst the living should you see your way to return my call. Thank you.

    You know, that’s a really loving and caring message that you leave. Perhaps the next time I call my mom and she doesn’t answer, I’ll leave the same type of message. -CS

  8. Foxy Luv May 7, 2008 at 1:31 pm #

    When you have call waiting, that means people can always “get” you…even when you are on another call. I don’t want people to always be able to “get” me. I am surrounded on all sides by insane family members. I don’t want to have one conversation with a crazy person interupted for another conversation with a different crazy person. I can only take so much crazy at a time.
    So you can just deal, Cath!!!!

    Just get the same thing Teri has so I can leave you a freaking message. Stop these shenanigans! -CS

  9. Foxy Luv May 7, 2008 at 4:32 pm #

    And then have to call back a crazy person, right after talking to another crazy person. No thank you – that’s even worse! Then you are like setting yourself up for an on-going nightmare. Just call my cell if you get the busy signal.

    Your cell is always off! -CS

Leave a Reply

