A Career Tip from Catherinette

3 Aug

This one goes out to all the young “ladies” who have just graduated from college and are trying to make a good impression in their first “real” job.

Ladies, if you’re going to compare drunk hook-up stories, either: lower your voices OR find a secluded table that’s not right next to a high traffic area.

In the 3 minutes that I stood next to the microwave today, I heard all about:

  • one girl’s adventures skinny dipping with a “hot guy” she had a crush on, while her friends watched;
  • another girl’s account of how she went to a party with her ex and his hot friend, and that the hot friend got into a HUGE fight with his girlfriend during an intense game of I Never. Apparently, the girlfriend of the hot friend accused him of sleeping with someone else;
  • A sorority girl’s account of some strange drinking game where she had to lick a lollipop and then pass it on to someone she had hooked up with. Then that person had to lick the lollipop and give it to someone else he had hooked up with, and so on and so on. It seems as though the lollipop made it all around the sorority house that night.

Klassy.

15 Responses to “A Career Tip from Catherinette”

  1. Beatrix Kiddo August 3, 2007 at 6:03 pm #

    I save those kinds of stories for my blog.

    I hope whatever it was you were microwaving was worth it.

  2. monicker August 3, 2007 at 7:16 pm #

    Lollipop…ick, ick, ick!

  3. Catherinette Singleton August 3, 2007 at 7:37 pm #

    Beatrix Kiddo: I’m right there with you. I don’t shout that out at a cafeteria table.

    Monicker: It’s wicked gross.

  4. The Diva's Thoughts August 3, 2007 at 7:55 pm #

    EEEIIIIWWWW….

  5. The Ambiguous Blob August 3, 2007 at 8:18 pm #

    Okay, I’ll lower my voice then. Thanks.

  6. Catherinette Singleton August 3, 2007 at 8:23 pm #

    the diva’s thoughts: Tell me about it.

    the ambiguous blob: We all appreciate that. You were getting awfully loud.

  7. Beth August 3, 2007 at 9:51 pm #

    Huh. I’m fortysomething, and that sounds very much like today’s lunch conversation.

  8. Foxy Luv August 3, 2007 at 10:34 pm #

    You know I absolutely adore being innapropriate – it is really a corner-stone of who I am…but you do need to keep it down, especially while others are nuking their pathetic little Smart Ones diet lunch while mentally lamenting how much their tits are sagging. I swear to Christ – I had it when my internal monolougue gets drowned out by these little hookers. It’s enough to make you take a gin and tonic for medicenal purposes just to get through the day…not that there is anything wrong with that.
    Little hookers with big mouths, consider yourselves on notice.

  9. Cinnkitty August 4, 2007 at 12:02 am #

    Soooo…did any of them get the job? Just curious….I mean, if the person doing the interviews was male and also overheard the stories…well….let’s just say there is some serious “casting couch” opportunities there. ha.ha..ha… yeah..I’m rotten!

  10. Scary Monster August 4, 2007 at 4:31 am #

    All Me life Me be tryin to be a Scary Monster. Now Me ralize that all Me ever wants to be is a lollipop.

    STOMP.

  11. just me August 5, 2007 at 10:30 pm #

    …All i talk about around the water cooler is how much I hate my boss.

    Of course, I use a code name for him.

    “BAB: Big Asshole Boss”

  12. Blowing Shit Up With Gas August 6, 2007 at 2:05 pm #

    Next time stand by the microwave for 6 minutes so that you can list twice as many!

  13. Princess Extraordinaire August 6, 2007 at 2:26 pm #

    Being next to your microwave could qualify for a great night time drama….

  14. Catherinette Singleton August 6, 2007 at 2:39 pm #

    Beth: It makes for a wonderful topic of conversation-and mine are similar, though I’ve learned to be more discreet.

    Foxy Luv: They were probably your new hires!!

    Cinnkitty: They are already employees of the company-they just happen to still be in training at the moment.

    Scary Monster: Next time I run into them, I’ll give them your number.

    Just Me: Excellent code name!!

    BSUWG: My head might explode. . .

    Princess E: Too bad we weren’t out at a bar, I could only imagine what kind of stories they would share.

  15. hanmee August 6, 2007 at 2:59 pm #

    I miss working with single, drinking people.

    There’s no drama at my office.

    Oh, but yeah. TOTALLY inappropriate.

Leave a Reply

