Twitching From Fear at the Witching Hour

30 Jul

Two years ago, my mom and I went to see The Exorcism of Emily Rose. For those of you that haven’t seen it, it’s a scary little thriller about a chick who is possessed by the devil, and the subsequent trial that occurs after her mysterious death. When the movie was released there was all sorts of hype about how it was really a court room drama and not a horror movie at all. I say pashah to those stupid bastards. That movie was scary as all get out! It makes it even scarier that the movie is based on a true story. That gives me the heebee jeebees.

In the movie, they explore the concept of the witching hour. Ever since I saw it-again, that was 2 years ago-I have a little panic attack if I wake up anytime near 3:00 am. For that very reason, I refuse to look at the clock if I have to get up in the middle of the night to visit the loo. Every once in awhile, however, I happen to glance at it when I’m hopping back into bed. Nine times out of ten, it’s 3-something-er-other. Then I lay awake in bed all freaked out thinking that freaky things are going to happen to me. I don’t like it one little bit.

Stupid Emily Rose. I hate you for making me scared 2 years after your stupid movie.

8 Responses to “Twitching From Fear at the Witching Hour”

  1. The Ambiguous Blob July 30, 2007 at 10:23 pm #

    Seriously though… I think I saw a monster under your bed…

  2. Cinnkitty July 30, 2007 at 11:27 pm #

    No….seriously??? You thought that was scary? Get out!!! Seriously??? Wow, I walked out of the theatre thinking “Man..I’ll never got those 2 hours of my life back.”

    But then again, I’m a horror movie freak, soooo….Emily Rose..not so much. Exorcist…yeah…read the background info on THAT story and then get back to me. 😉

    Oh….and just so you know…. 11:11 is also a bad number to take note of…. I’m just saying…..heh..heh.heh…

  3. The Diva's Thoughts July 31, 2007 at 2:31 pm #

    The first Exorcist was the only movie to truly terrify me. For that reason I refuse to watch any other movies with the word “Exorcist” in it. lol

  4. Del-V July 31, 2007 at 2:51 pm #

    The Exorcist was awesome. Rumor around College Park was that the real Exorcist house was in Brentwood MD and not in Georgetown. And because no one wanted to buy the house after the kid got possessed, they leveled the house and built a playground on top of it.

  5. Marie July 31, 2007 at 2:56 pm #

    I’ve never seen the movie, but have heard of the 3 AM witching hour. Every time I wake up I freak out too b/c it is usually around 3. I have to calm myself down and sometimes even turn on the TV to try to get my mind off of it!

  6. Catherinette Singleton July 31, 2007 at 3:10 pm #

    Ambiguous Blob: Know what? I’m afraid they’re down there.

    Cinnkitty: How did you not think that was scary?? Ugh! She was so freaking creepy! Plus I nearly peed myself when the tape player turned itself on in the middle of the night in the movie. Scary. 11:11 is actually a good time-you get to make a wish when all the digits on the clock are the same.

    The Diva’s Thoughts: Tell me about it. I had to make sure that it was full daylight out when I saw that movie.

    Del-V: Do you ever go and visit the Exorcist steps in Georgetown? That’s fun. The one time I climbed up the stairs the lights would turn off just as I passed them. Cree-P.

    Marie: How could you turn on the TV?? I’m afraid I might get sucked in like in Poltergeist.

  7. Cinnkitty July 31, 2007 at 11:04 pm #

    Nah…not scary. I was definitely on board with the whole “psychological disorder” concept for Emily.

    Emily Rose – not scary
    The Exorcist (extended/uncut version of course) F’ING scary!
    The Ring — suspenseful, somewhat frightening, but scary? nah…. 🙂

    Poltergeist – now THERE is a classic! Right on for bringing that one up. I’m TOTALLY going to have to get the DVD now.

    Of course, the whole tragic story on the poor little girl, Heather O’Rourke, now that makes for some creepy bedtime reading!

  8. Heather August 1, 2007 at 7:21 pm #

    Awh man, yeah. I knew about the witching hour before Emily Rose was even out in the theaters! Sucks!!!

Leave a Reply

