Fat is as Fat Does

26 Jan

I’m a whale.  I’m a hippo.  I’m a pig.  I’m a whale.  These are the things going through my head as I stand in front of the mirror wondering where on earth these cankles came from.

First official day in Australia, it’s perfect summer weather, and all I see is pasty white blubber.  These next six months are going to be AMAZING!

I have a friend of a friend in town who I’m supposed to meet up with today.  Have never met her, we’ve just exchanged a few emails, but it seemed like a good idea at the time.  When I first agreed to meet up with her, I immediately sent her a facebook friend request and started stalking her.  I was hoping for someone who wasn’t model hot so I wouldn’t feel like such a fast ass.  Just a normal looking girl, though definitely fitter than I am.

We’ve decided on going down to St. Kilda, down on the water.  “Swim suits?” she asked.  Flash of me standing on the beach blinding everyone with my fat thighs.  Lied that I left my suit at home.

“Should we run or power walk?  Should I wear gym clothes? “she asks.  First of all HA!  Second of all HAHA!  Me?  Power walk or run??  Is there a zombie apocolaypse?  Because if there isn’t, I’m not doing it.  Oh, and also, its upward of 90 degrees today, I’ll sweat just from breathing – my heart would stop if I ran.  My response? “Haha. Yeah, no. I’m the biggest slacker EVER. For reals. Go casual.”

Know whats’ funny?  To get rid of the whale/hippo/pig/whale thing, I should run or power walk.  Maybe I’ll just have a cookie to take my mind off of this.

5 Responses to “Fat is as Fat Does”

  1. Annabel Krantz January 28, 2014 at 1:56 am #

    Welcome to Oz! Don’t worry, I’m a native and I’m pasty white alllll year round :P Glad to have you back in the blogosphere!

    • Catherinette January 28, 2014 at 4:33 am #

      Thanks for the welcome!! FYI: the sun was brutal today! How do people do it??

    • Annabel Krantz January 28, 2014 at 4:46 am #

      Air conditioning will become your best friend! We are trained from birth to say ’11-3, stay under a tree’ – it’s nicer in the evenings when it’s not so burn-y!

  2. KcJ January 28, 2014 at 2:57 pm #

    At least it is hot there! There is a blizzard going through the Northeast right now! It is a mess.

  3. Chicago-Style Girl January 29, 2014 at 1:11 am #

    This post had me cracking up. But we’ve gotta work on your body image lady.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,108 other followers

