I’m Not Buying What You’re Selling

2 Sep

Those of us in the workforce will inevitably encounter one: a shitty boss.  The tyrant, the cry baby, the slacker, the micro manager, the barracuda, the sexist pig, the list is endless.  When I was at Investments r Us there was one particular boss who most everyone hated – she was, to put it nicely, a phony bitch.  The type of person who wouldn’t help you, had no idea what she was doing, and enjoyed spending time bragging about things that weren’t that exciting.  There weren’t many tears when she decided to leave to open up her own business selling skin care products.  Good bye, good luck, good riddance.

She left in the years before Facebook started up, and when I saw she’d sent me an invitation, I had one of “those” moments.  Most of us have been through it: that weird moment where we get a Facebook friend invite and than have the internal battle of whether or not to accept.  It’s that whole, “I don’t really like them, but I feel obligated because she’s family/my boss/my neighbor/psychotic and might kill me if I don’t accept/will judge me/will spread rumors/a stranger.”  After a day of hemming and hawing over it, I accepted.  My bad, total mistake.

These days she spends her time posting motivational quotes, pictures of only one of her two boys, or trying to get people to buy the shit that she’s selling.  Even on Facebook she comes across as a total phony.

And now, let me bore you with the stupid shit she posts…

  • FB Challenge: Alright… I’ve been using this NEW product by [insert company here] for 14 days and all I can say is it works like a eraser. It erases the signs of aging and damage that showed on may face as a result years of sun damage from being a lifeguard and acne scaring from hormone treatments. As a result of using this product my skin looks noticeably different.
  • “Don’t deny yourself the joy of your dreams. Don’t doubt yourself or your ability to do what you are doing to reach your goals. Don’t beat up on yourself for what may seem like a mistake or a waste of time. Keep on believing it was necessary for you to walk that path and to learn those lessons.” — Iyanla Vanzant
  • I buy it because its made with organic grade ingredients. I use it because it works, it Calms and hydrates my sensitive skin. I throw it away, when its used up. Then I buy it again. Consumable, green, results oriented products!!
  • Where do you see yourself in 5 years, if you keep doing what you are doing today? Are you financially secure? Are you living your life by your design? Are you confident and going for your goals? Is your children’s education paid for? If something unforeseen were to happen to your main source of income, how long could you survive? Maybe, just maybe it’s time to explore some options. Many people build a second stream of residual income with [insert company name] along side of their full time job. Call it your “just in case” fund! Regardless, what does it hurt to explore? Join us this Thursday to take a look. Don’t knee jerk (like I did!) and say “NO I could never do that”.. believe me, you don’t know enough yet…

Ugh.  Unsubscribe from posts.

3 Responses to “I’m Not Buying What You’re Selling”

  1. princessbunnycakes September 3, 2013 at 11:11 pm #

    I can’t figure out if she’s a (bad) businesswoman or in some sort of pyramid-scheme-style cult. Or both?

  2. marinasleeps September 4, 2013 at 12:15 pm #

    hahaha…
    how can I find you on FB??

  3. Red September 13, 2013 at 1:19 pm #

    I’m disturbed by “a eraser” (sic).

    I once got a request from someone I went to HS with. I don’t decline that many requests, but I didn’t feel any obligation there. I thought to myself, “Wow. Do you really not know that I never liked you? I’m perfectly willing to believe that you’re different now, but we weren’t friends then and I know no reason we would be now.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,108 other followers

