Keep Your Chen Up

8 Nov

Yours truly has wound up in the world’s lamest training class.  It was one that originally held promise, but when the instructor walked in 10 minutes before class was supposed to start at 8:30 and then announced we would start at 9:00 I knew I was in for it.  I’ll admit as a learning professional I tend to be pretty critical of other trainers and of training classes, but this one sucks hardcore.  Instead of it being a class where people get to participate and learn something, this is more of a lecture where he barrages us with information (which is incorrect) and talks for two hours straight without taking a break.

It’s not one of those classes where you look up at the clock and you think to yourself, “my my, I can’t believe how much time has passed!” No, no.  Instead it’s one of those where you think, “the clock must be broken because it feels like it’s been 45 minutes since I last looked at the clock and the minute hand hasn’t even budged.”  Add to the fact that the teacher has a totally annoying habit of adding “you know” into every single sentence and you have a natural replacement for Ambien.  This is what his sentences sound like:

You know the element you know that in nature you know is a natural you know element and you know that’s what we’re going to talk about you know.  You know that the element you know is natural you know and we’re you know talking about you know it you know.

Kill me.  Just kill me twice and put me out of my misery.

There was, however, one hilarious thing that happened in class today.  While most of us were drooling on our notebooks from boredom he started calling on people by names to get us to participate.  He turned to the one Asian girl in class and asked, “Chen, what do you think of this image?”  To which she promptly responded, “My name is Allison.”

Aw, racism at it’s finest.  And in case you thought you might defend him saying he was calling her by her last name, you’d be terribly wrong.  Her last name doesn’t sound anything remotely like a stereotypical last name.

2 Responses to “Keep Your Chen Up”

  1. Ruby Wildflower November 8, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    Man, I LOVE when this shit happens. I used to call a girl that came sporadically into our office, ‘Linda’ cos I thought she was our accounts lady. Nope, turns out she was just another SLIGHTLY Asian looking chick that I thought was exact same person as our SLIGHTLY looking Asian accounts person. They don’t even look the same. Wevs.

  2. Jane Moneypenny November 8, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

    Yeah…I’m Asian and this happens to me a ridiculous amount.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,109 other followers

